17-Dec-09 08:38 | Eric Stafne

Time has been flying by in December.  There are so many “end of the year” activities to complete that I just lose track of time.  A lot of my time was spent on our new forthcoming publication, “Handbook of Oklahoma Vineyard Establishment and Management”.  Overall it took two years to complete and I’m happy to say that it is complete, finalized, and at the printers.  It should be available sometime in early to mid January.  More details to come…

Now is also a time when many scientists in viticulture are scrambling to get grant proposals finished.  Some large chunks of money are available from USDA-NIFA through the Specialty Crops Research Initiative.  I was lucky enough to get funding in 2009 to create a national Grape Community of Practice through the eXtension system.  Someday I hope to have the opportunity to address OGGWMA at large and go into more detail on what this entails and who is involved.  At any rate, I have researchers coming out of the woodwork to have me write letters of support for their projects.  It’s all very interesting — and time consuming.

So, I know that is no excuse for not blogging more, but all of that just seems a little more pressing right now.  Since I will be in the office until next Wednesday, I will try to post a few more.

